Yuriy Tarnawsky – Poetry

Yuriy Tarnawsky

click above for wikipedia link:

Portrait

On the blanck
sheet of paper
of her skin
I drew
in dotted lines
her face
and colored it
with my kisses.

Yuriy Tarnawsky
Yuriy Tarnawsky. This is how I get well..
Sucasnit. [München – New-York]. 1978

Amnesia

Sweaty-
faced,
with my heart
beating around
wildly
in my chest,
I realized
I’d forgotten
my name,
I started
running
from door to door,
knoking on them,
but no one
remembered me.

Yuriy Tarnawsky
Yuriy Tarnawsky. This is how I get well..
Sucasnit. [München – New-York]. 1978

Despair

The worst thing
is that
eventually
despair
too
becomes
boring
and there’s
nothing
to write
about.

Yuriy Tarnawsky
Yuriy Tarnawsky. This is how I get well..
Sucasnit. [München – New-York]. 1978

Foreign Language

Something
happened —
suddenly
my life’s
like a foreign
language
I dont’t
understand.

Yuriy Tarnawsky
Yuriy Tarnawsky. This is how I get well..
Sucasnit. [München – New-York]. 1978

Dream

The dream
opens
like a door,
you’re
standing
with my heart
in your teeth
like a cat
holding
a bird.

Yuriy Tarnawsky
Yuriy Tarnawsky. This is how I get well..
Sucasnit. [München – New-York]. 1978

Toy

Maybe
it really was
just a toy
love
that now
lies broken
in the dark
rooms
of our souls.

Yuriy Tarnawsky
Yuriy Tarnawsky. This is how I get well..
Sucasnit. [München – New-York]. 1978

Shevchenko

Having
come back
from eleven
years
of forced
military
service
Shevchenko
was desperate
to get
married
but even
servant girls
wouldn’t
have him.

Yuriy Tarnawsky
Yuriy Tarnawsky. This is how I get well..
Sucasnit. [München – New-York]. 1978

Leave a Reply

